Benjamin Wolfe AARON
Joel Benjamin & Co ? - c.1840
Benjamin & Aaron c.1840-1841
Benjamin Wolfe Aaron 1841-1875
B. W. Wolfe, Sons & Co 1875-1892
Nair Co 1892-1893
Joel Benjamin & Co, listed in 1841 as jewellers
at 17A Bury Street, St. Mary Axe, were
succeeded at the same address by Frances
Benjamin and Benjamin Wolfe Aaron trading as
Benjamin & Aaron until the dissolution of their
partnership on lst March 18411. Thereafter
B.W. Aaron continued alone at the same address
[8.1.1846], where he is listed from 1842 until
1850 as a watch manufacturer. He is then listed
at the following addresses: 529 New Oxford
Street in 1851 and 1852; 534 New Oxford Street
from 1853 until 1855; 530 New Oxford Street.
WC, from 1856 until 1860; 22 King Street,
Holborn, WC, in 1861; 6 Vernon Place,
Bloomsbury, WC, from 1861 until 1864; 19
Tavistock Street, Covent Garden, WC2, from
1865 until 1868; and 35 Bloomsbury Square,
WC3, from 1869 until 1877, variously listed as
a watch maker and jeweller (1851), importer of
foreign china (1858), importer of Dresden china
(1861) and diamond merchant (1864). In 1875
B.W. Aaron took his sons, Alfred Gabriel
Aaron and John Alfred Aaron, into business
after which the firm traded under the style of
B.W. Aaron, Sons & Co, listed from 1876 until
1878 at 35A Wood Street, EC4 and from 1879
until 1892 at 18 Jewin Street, EC, as umbrella
makers (1876), wholesale and export umbrella
and parasol manufacturers (1877) . . . and
umbrella stick manufacturer ( 1878) . . . and
manufacturers' agents of umbrella materials and
walking sticks (1879) . . . and cane dealers
(1881) . . . and manufacturers of the patent 'Life
Saving' umbrella (1883). B.W. Aaron retired on
3 July 1882, leaving the business to be
continued by A.G. Aaron [9.1.1886] and J.A.
Aaron. (TA: 'Aronicus'.) Following the latter's
retirement on 8 December 1890, A.G.
Aaron continued under the style of B.W. Aaron,
Sons & Co until removing in March 1892 to 35
& 38 Aldersgate Street, EC, where, described
as an umbrella manufacturer and warehouseman,
he traded under the style of the Nair Co. The
business ceased when he became bankrupt upon
his own petition in 1893.7
B.W. Aaron, Sons & Co, producers of the
'F.W. ' umbrella. the 'Mohair' umbrella, the
'Life Saving' umbrella. and the 'Clynch'
combination for strengthening umbrellas, were
exhibitors at Calcutta in 1883, and Antwerp and
the Inventions Exhibition, both in 1885.8 At the
latter they showed '( 1 ) Patent One-Hand Self-
opening Umbrella, suitable for parasols and
sunshades. (2) Mohair Cloth Umbrella'.9
Private address: Alfred Gabriel Aaron. 8
Oliphant Road. Canonbury, N [9.1.1886].
mk: 9, 1630
ref: 6/5/1, 8/111/5
1 The London Gazette, 1841, p.577.
2 Richard Herbert is listed here in 1864 as an umbrella
3 The firm of Lowenstein Brothers is listed here as diamond
merchants from 1878.
4 Isaac Boss & Co is listed here as umbrella manufacturers until 1875.
5 The London Gazette, 1882, p.3177. The firm is also noted at this time to have had premises at 1 Coppinger's Row, Dublin, which were still in its possession in 1885 (see notes 8 and 9 below).
6 The London Gazette, 1890, p.7014.
7 Stick and Umbrella News, London, 1.6.1893, 1.7.1893, p.431, 1.12.1893, pp.591-592.
8 Invention, 8.5.1886, p.1565, with portrait of A.G.
Aaron, supp. no. 15.
9 Official Catalogue, group XXII, no.1739.